top of page

I Was All Over Her - By Salvia Palth


TITLE: I Was All Over Her

ARTIST: Salvia Palth

GENRE: Dream Pop / Lo-fi

MOOD: Dejected / Gloomy

SIMILAR TO: Flatsound, Elvis Depressedly

Sometimes album titles don't quite match the actual album, but Melanchole is one of the most accurate titles I’ve ever seen. It is evocative not of the type of raw angst popular among other emo outfits, but instead of a distinct emotion: downtempo dejection. Melanchole finds power within its melodic and instrumental authenticity regarding the frigid, extended lows of depression. “I Was All Over Her” is the most popular track on the album with good reason. The acoustic melody is slow and quiet; frontman Daniel Johann’s droning voice is reverberating and surreal. His recollection of a party exemplifies the tone of the album, singing “I guess I am always (lonely)/it’s not a problem/It’s just something/I got used to it”.

There’s a complacency in Johann’s despondence that sets it apart from most emo I’d listened to before Melanchole. We don’t see the intense rage of bands like PUP or Joyce Manor, because the angst of those albums implies a continuous rage against inner strife, but we instead see a thing of downcast beauty. Melanchole is a different beast, surrendering to that strife.

Related Posts

See All

Moods

CATEGORIES: 
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
Related Posts
bottom of page