top of page

High to Death - By Car Seat Headrest


TITLE: High to Death

ARTIST: Car Seat Headrest

GENRE: Lo-Fi / Indie Rock

MOOD: Melancholy / Down

SIMILAR TO: Elvis Depressedly, Alex G, Teen Suicide

Off Will Toledo (Car Seat Headrest)’s 2013 album Twin Fantasy, “High to Death” is echoey and nostalgic. The song is fiercely lo-fi, and Toledo’s variable voice feels transcendent and powerful when put to the backdrop of drums and guitar. Its distorted stylings also feel surreal and melancholy. The track, to me, strangely captures the essence of abusing substances both musically and lyrically. “I closed my eyes/And I thought I was blind/It’s the middle of the night/And I’ll never be alright again” captures the simplicity and dejection that pervades the song, and “Keep smoking, I love you” is as powerful as ever.

Related Posts

See All
CATEGORIES: 
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
Related Posts
bottom of page