top of page

I Admit I'm Scared - By Ó


TITLE: I Admit I'm Scared

ARTIST: Ó

GENRE: Indie rock / alternative / folk

MOOD: Hopeful

SIMILAR TO: Japanese Breakfast, Cyberbully Mom Club

Ó, previously known as Eskimeaux, is driven forth by Gabrielle Smith. The introduction of the song is sparse, beginning with a quiet, almost hesitant, strum of the guitar. Then Smith begins to sing -- in a clear, mournful voice evident in many of Ó’s past tracks, a voice that conveys all the hope and apprehension that precedes any great risk. Her voice blends in soft harmony with the acoustic background, soothing the listener despite her fears.

Then the music begins to pick up, and “I Admit I’m Scared” is energized by percussion and an electric progression, never overbearing, but instead serving as the background to a platform of support and optimism.

As someone at a crossroads in her life, facing great change and great uncertainty, I find what little confidence I can in Ó’s track, comfort in the change of Smith’s voice as she sings, “And if I had a dime for/Every time I’m freaking out...”, catharsis in the fact that someone else is going through the same feelings of persistent doubt and needless worry.

You can try to mask your fear with clichés - “life goes on”, “it all works out in the end”. Or you can accept your fears, no matter how trivial, and find hope through your own uncertainty.

Related Posts

See All
CATEGORIES: 
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
Related Posts
bottom of page