top of page

Humanz - By Gorillaz

ALBUM TITLE: Humanz

ARTIST: Gorillaz

GENRE: Rave / Acid House / Alternative / Rap / Hip hop

LISTEN HERE: Spotify

With this album, Gorillaz strays away from their classic mellow vibe and dabbles in a grungier and dirtier rap genre, which is totally not a bad thing. I, for one, really enjoyed the change of pace, despite not being too keen on the rap genre. I think Gorillaz does a fantastic job of keeping its roots in their synth/grooving bassline classic sound while branching out to a totally new soundscape.

My favorite tracks from this album are “Strobelite”, “Busted and Blue”, and “Andromeda”. “Strobelite” brings to mind “Dirty Harry” from Gorillaz’ Demon Days album, with a funky twist. I’m personally a fan of the wavering synth in the background. “Busted and Blue” reminded me how absolutely beautiful 2D’s voice is, reminiscent of “El Manana” from Demon Days as well. It’s a bit of a sad song, but it’s such a pleasure to listen to. I wrote about Andromeda for a previous post, but I think it truly embodies the band’s transition from Phase 3 to Phase 4.

Speaking of Phase 4, the artwork for this album and for Phase 4 is fantastic. I really enjoy the surrealist combination of the band’s two dimensional style with an almost collage-esque world around them. I suggest checking out the art book, for it truly personifies the band as the (very) dysfunctional family with terrible fashion sense that they are. It’s cool to look at the change from Phase 1 to Phase 4, as the band transitions from cartoonish caricatures to, well, Humanz.

Favorite tracks: Strobelite, Busted and Blue, Andromeda

Listen to the Humanz album below:

Related Posts

See All
CATEGORIES: 
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
Related Posts
bottom of page